Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 27th, 2010

Towards the end of The Experience of Insight, Joseph Goldstein tells a wonderful fable about the purpose of non-attachment.

A university professor once visited a Japanese master, asking many questions about Zen. The master served tea, filling his guest’s cup, and then continuing to pour. The professor watched the overflow exclaiming that the cup was full without room for any more. “Just like this cup,” the master replied, “you are so full of your own views and opinions that there is no room for any new understanding. To experience the truth you must first empty your cup.”

A Zen Practice: Birthing From Within

I recently had the opportunity to visit three different people who I hadn’t seen in awhile, and with whom I had some conflict with in the past. In each case I had my clearly defined opinions about what was wrong with them. Also in each case, it only took several minutes to realize that my opinions were just that, only my opinions. They had nothing to do with the reality of the person I was visiting. My mind had been closed, leaving no room for other viewpoints.

Thankfully, I emptied out my cup of tea with each person, and surprise upon surprise, saw them in a different and very pleasant light. Not only were the visits enjoyable, but any conflict and opinions were left where they belonged; in the past. I enjoyed drinking my cups of tea, and embodying the spaciousness of heart and mind.

Read Full Post »